Mexico v. Texas

No, not the Alamo.

It’s a pretty interesting idea, though: Mexico against Texas for bragging rights in tennis in the 1930s:

Quinto program Jake Hess cover

Quinto explanation

What makes it especially interesting is the fact that the Tejano contingent included a couple of good Rice players, including a very familiar name, Jake Hess, the namesake of our previous tennis facility:

Quinto Equipo Texano 1937

Quinto Equipo Texano

I have no idea who won.



This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Mexico v. Texas

  1. grungy1973 says:

    Thanks for the obverse of the previous “Bonus”.
    Sewall Hall, near the loading dock…

  2. almadenmike says:

    The results of these matches were reported on page 3 of the November 12, 1937, issue of the Thresher: :


    Rice was represented in a tennis tournament featuring outstanding players of Texas and Mexico held at the Club Deportiuo Chapultepec in Mexico City from October 30 to November 2. Jake Hess, ex-Rice tennis star, and Max Campbell of this year’s team were members of the Texas delegation and played numbers one and two positions respectively in the singles matches.

    The tournament was sponsored by the Mexican Lawn Tennis Association and the Mexican government. The Texas stars were pitted against Mexico’s Davis Cup team, and showed up very well, although Mexico won the tourney in total number of matches won. They won nine, while Texas took only eight.

    Hess played Manuel Bedolla, the Mexican National champion and won, 6-1, 6-1. Campbell dropped a match to Daniel Hernandez. 7-5. 8-6. Hess and Campbell took a doubles match from Alfonso Unda and Daniel Hernandez, 6-3, 5-7, 4-6, 6-4, 6-3, and Williams and Campbell beat Miguel Acevedo and Flavio Martinez, 6-3, 6-2, 4-6, 6-1.

    The members of the American .team were, Max Campbell; Jake Hess, Lucien de la Costes, ex-Texas U. player, Fred Royer, Capt. Oklahoma U. team, Paschall Walthall, Capt. Texas U. team, and Sterling Williams, a Texas ex. The cup for’ the tourney was presented by the president of Mexico.


Leave a Reply